Mid Year Writing Stock Take

In Australia the end of June marks the end of the financial year. Retailers hold sales, and everyone works out if they need to make more deductions ahead of preparing tax returns. Then it is July and the pace slows a bit amid winter’s chill, except for accountants. For me, it’s time to take stock of my writing goals, maybe boast a lil and look at what I need to do.

  • I can’t say I will be published, but I’ll do what I can to make it easier for editors to read my work and go, we’ll publish this and pay money too. Success and also in progress. Five stories have been published or accepted in addition to one non-fiction piece so far this year. Woot!
Unveiled: my secret plans for writing.

Unveiled: my secret plans for writing.

  •  I will complete and edit my NaNoWriMo project. In progress: some of it’s in better shape, but it is not finished. Yet.
  • I will join NaNoWriMo next year. This will depend on the state of the previous NaNo project.
This is how I should approach writing. With flowers and a lance, single horse power charge.

This is how I should approach writing. With flowers & a lance, in a single horse power charge.

  • I will complete redrafting and send out my novella again for another round of opportunities. In progress. This has happened, and will keep happening until published.
  • I will seek out writing workshops and investigate attending writing retreats. In progress: attended two all day writing workshops or master classes so far this year. Due to emergencies regarding my dentist and also my car, writing retreats are on hold, unless I win one or they are cheap.
  • I will continue to complete whatever works I start. This is always in progress. I have ideas a big new project, but I need to complete my NaNo thing first.
  • I will continue to focus on sending the right story to the appropriate journal. In progress. Success has been encountered.
  • I will keep blogging. Voila! Obviously this is in progress.
There are writing brickbats and bouquets. Like this.

There are writing brickbats and bouquets. Like this.

  • I will complete my art zine that I entered and return it to New York. Completed and it has been digitised so now it is online to look at.  It’s not such a very sophisticated piece of work, but my attempt at a sketchbook is on tour with others across the United States too, which is very cool indeed. To try is the thing and I have a second one to work on.
  • I taught myself how to use Scrivener, so will continue to refine my knowledge and skills beyond the basics. This is stalled. However, I continue to use is for my NaNo project.
About Becadroit

A writer.
This entry was posted in Notes on Writing Related Stuff, Stuff I Like, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

