How I Knew

It came to me recently. How I knew I was a writer. All the time things happen, good and bad, happy and not so much. And the first thing I’m prompted to do when things happen is write.    

I think about doing, but I’m not a surgeon or a soldier or a builder or much of a maker. And my First Aid was always shaky, for the longest time I tended to feel faint in hospitals. I like crafty things but almost failed sewing in school and I’m not much of a cook. Did I mention I’m a bit clumsy too? Also, I’d rejected being a reporter because I didn’t want to stick my pencil into other people’s horror. Or analyse sport.

At first and last I’m a writer. Somehow experiences get filtered and mix with imagination and inspiration and other mysterious stuff and come out the other side as  a story or a poem or a 200 word advertorial for a house for sale or something else set down in words. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s the same reason some people fight fires or study moss. All I know is when stuff happens and doing is needed, and I urgently want to do, I turn to writing.

About Becadroit

A writer compelled to review Doctor Who episodes and art exhibitions, while also commenting on writing and submitting short stories and working on novellas.
This entry was posted in Random Short Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

